Ilmiliekki Quartet

Ilmiliekki Quartet is one of the internationally most successful Finnish jazz ensembles. The band has been awarded the Teosto-award for original compositions on their debut “March of The Alpha Males” (2003, TUM Records) and the first place in the Young Nordic Jazz Comets ensemble competition in 2001.

Since that their star has been fixed to the Finnish and European jazz universe. All members of the band have hoarded music prizes and artist recognitions, so Ilmiliekki has definitely earned their ”all-star-band” title. The quartet’s fourth and newest album comes out after their brief hiatus in autumn 2015.

Ilmiliekki has toured widely across Europe, but also in Australia, Canada and U.S.

Ilmiliekki Quartet: Verneri Pohjola (trumpet), Tuomo Prättälä (piano), Antti Lötjönen (bass) and Olavi Louhivuori (drums)

Photo © Jori Grönroos